Daily Archives: August 8, 2015

EDTECH 513: Digital Story

The assignment for this week was to create a digital story.  The possibilities were endless, but I went with a format I am familiar with. I use iMovie and Sony Vegas during the school year to create a variety of introductory videos for my students. As you can see in this one, I like to incorporate humor into my class.  This digital story meets a variety of principles learned throughout this course including the Coherence and Personalization principle.  The Coherence principle is demonstrated by eliminating unnecessary information. This is a background story, not a multimedia lecture. All information is necessary to the story and setting up the project.  The Personalization principle is demonstrated by using conversation style instead of formal. There are many times in which the word “you” was used referring to the students and making them feel the video was personally talking to them.  I had fun making this, as I do with every movie I make! My students eventually accept and appreciate my weirdness!

Enjoy!

Narration Text