Daily Archives: August 13, 2015

EDTECH513: Reflection

  • What challenges did you face in this course?

One specific challenge that I faced during this course was my unfortunate habit to overthink assignments! During each assignment, I was trying to create something unique and use a program or tool that I have not used before.  This became problematic because I would spend hours trying to find different software, that was free of course, and end up not using it because it didn’t allow me to do everything that I wanted. In addition to the program overthinking, I also had difficulties coming up with topics for each assignment. I have a problem trying to create different things which ends up taking more time than it should!

  • What strategies or other creative resources did you use to address these challenges?

When I was struggling trying to think of a concept to use, I would think of my classroom and what would be beneficial for it. When I used that mentality, I was able to simplify my ideas and make them practical.

  • Which artifact do you feel was your best and why?

I felt my Animoto introduction was my best, because it meant the most to me. I had never used Animoto before, and I really enjoyed putting pictures together to help people learn a little bit about me. I sent the link to my parents because I was proud of what I created and it was a good representation of who I am! They obviously liked it, I think they had to!

  • What is one thing you plan to do in your school or business as a result of this course?

There are some awesome programs that I used during this course that I want to use in my classroom. Obviously I was a big fan of Animoto, but I also enjoyed Camtasia and Clarify-it. I will incorporate worked examples and screen shots to help my students understand the directions of assignments and content better.